Beyond Fright: David Lynch Releases New Single, “Star Dream Girl”

Legendary filmmaker David Lynch (LOST HIGHWAY, BLUE VELVET) is set to release his second album THE BIG DREAM this July, and we’ve got his first single from the album, Star Dream Girl for you fright fiends!

LOS ANGELES (June 24, 2013) — Legendary multimedia artist David Lynch delivers the first official single from his sophomore solo album THE BIG DREAM. “Star Dream Girl” will be available to stream on YouTube and also for purchase on iTunes beginning today, Monday, June 24 as a double A-side digital single with “Are You Sure”. The official single debut follows the first taste of the album, the expansive bonus song “I’m Waiting Here” featuring Swedish singer-songwriter Lykke Li. BLACKBOOK called it a “Dreamy track that feels like floating into a haze of sedation and pleasure that you wouldn’t mind keeping on loop for nights on end.”

Mr. Lynch describes the inspiration behind “Star Dream Girl” as follows: “After I moved away from Boise, Idaho, I came back in the summer of ’61. Around that time, Jerry Lee Lewis was supposed to play at this big club in the Sagebrush Desert — I think it was called the Miramar. Back then, these big events would catch people’s imaginations. They would take their motorcycles or hot rods to these remote places to see some star. So we all drove out to this place, but Jerry never showed up and people were really pissed off. ‘Star Dream Girl’ has that same kind of charisma. People can’t wait to see her and come from miles around.” He goes on say, “The lyrics came to me all at once, but there was no music yet. Then one night, Dean (Hurley) was playing guitar in the studio and I was egging him on when he caught a wave like the surfers out in Hawaii. He was in the tunnel man…and the lyrics married with that ride.”

David Lynch’s THE BIG DREAM comes out July 16 from Sunday Best/Sacred Bones.



Track Listing

1. “The Big Dream”
2. “Star Dream Girl”
3. “Last Call”
4. “Cold Wind Blowin”
5. “The Ballad of Hollis Brown”
6. “Wishin’ Well”
7. “Say It”
8. “We Rolled Together”
9. “Sun Can’t Be Seen No More”
10. “I Want You”
11. “The Line It Curves”
12. “Are You Sure”
**“I’m Waiting Here” with Lykke Li – Exclusive Bonus Track

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *