POLTERGEIST Vinyl & FRIDAY THE 13TH Print Coming From Mondo!

Mondo-LogoMondo, who is responsible for a steady amount of badass limited prints and collectible vinyl soundtracks, announced two upcoming releases that are guaranteed to be collectible greatness. On February 14th, Valentine’s Day (at a random time, like always) Mondo will release a new FRIDAY THE 13TH poster by comic book artist Francesco Francavilla. Limited to 345, this screenprint looks pretty awesome if I do say so myself.

And if that isn’t cool enough, Mondo is definitely going to woo you all with this: On February 22nd, Mondo is set to release a 180-gram black and clear vinyl of the Jerry Goldsmith soundtrack to the 1982 horror classic, POLTERGEIST. Selling for $25, the soundtrack features artwork by Australian group WE BUY YOUR KIDS, and will feature 5 additional tracks never before released on vinyl. Check out the package shots, as well as the full track list and official press release below.


1) The Star Spangled Banner
2) The Calling / The Neighborhood (Main Title)
3) The Tree (Outtake)
4) The Clown / They’re Here / Broken Glass / The Hole / TV People
5) Twisted Abduction
6) Contacting The Other Side
7) The Light
8) Night Visitor / No Complaints
9) It Knows What Scares You
10) Rebirth
11) Night Of The Beast
12) Escape From Suburbia
13) Carol Anne’s Theme (End Title)

Mondo, the collectible art division of Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, is excited to announce the release of Jerry Goldsmith’s Poltergeist score on limited edition vinyl. Combining a love for film music and beautiful artistic renderings, Mondo commissioned original cover art from We Buy Your Kids, the duo of Australian illustrators Sonny Day and Biddy Maroney. The Poltergeist 2-disc vinyl will be available for purchase for $25 on February 22 via MondoTees.com and will include a small portion of randomly inserted clear vinyl copies. The full track list appears at the bottom and includes 5 tracks never before released on vinyl.

The Poltergeist vinyl soundtrack release continues Mondo’s commitment to crafting beautiful packaging for scores they love and adds to an eclectic collection that now includes The Beyond, Deadly Spawn, Maniac and the upcoming vinyl release for Drive. Much more is on the horizon for 2013.

Jerry Goldsmith’s soundtrack for Steven Spielberg’s Poltergeist formed a significant part of the 1982 film’s conceptual strength. Known for the intensity of his thematic exposition, Goldsmith designs the Poltergeist soundtrack to elaborately ground the film between the promise of suburban repose and the malevolent unknown. Beginning in innocence with a classic rendition of the “Star-Spangled Banner,” the soundtrack parallels the film’s intrusion of angry ghosts into the California home of the film’s protagonists with dreadful strings and eerie keys. Goldsmith then switches to airier strings and an ethereal flute to denote the family’s fumbling after their daughter, Carol Anne, is abducted. Utilizing frenzied horn blasts and a sudden lapse into atonalism, the composer ominously signifies the emergence of the Beast. Goldsmith, seemingly effortless, concludes the frantic drama of “Escape From Suburbia” in stark contrast with the sweet and child-like tones of “Carol Anne’s Theme,” elegantly illustrating the dignity and range that his orchestral scores for horror modeled within the genre.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *