MONSTERS HD UNLEASHES HAMMER HORROR MARATHON

On November 30th, Monsters HD will play 9 classic Hammer Horror films in a row running from 5 PM until 5 AM the next morning. The films will include such classic actors as Christopher Lee and Peter Cushing and will include Frankenstein and The Mummy among the classic cast of legendary movie monsters. Here is the movie and time schedule for the evening:

 


DRACULA HAS RISEN FROM THE GRAVE
(1968) 5:15 PM ET/ 2:15 PM PT/ 4:15 PM C
Starring Christopher Lee as the inimitable Count, the film opens in a middle-European village suffering under Dracula’s reign of terror. When an altar boy discovers the body of a woman stuffed in the church’s bell, the local villagers implore the Monsignor to exorcise Dracula’s castle. However, the bloodsucker gets his revenge by making the holy man’s niece his bride in this 1968 thriller.


 
TASTE THE BLOOD OF DRACULA (1969) 7 PM ET/ 4 PM PT/ 6 PM C
After three elderly, bourgeois gentlemen stumble upon one of Count Dracula’s servants, they’re invited to a ritual where they unwittingly help to restore the Count back to life. But when they kill Dracula’s servant, their days are numbered in this vampiric classic starring Lee in his most toothsome role.
 
DRACULA A.D. 1972 (1972) 8:40 PM ET/5:40 PM PT/ 7:40 PM C
One hundred years following the deaths of Dracula and legendary vampire hunter Van Helsing, the Count is resurrected by a group of hippies in modern day London. One of the group, Jessica, hails from the Van Helsing bloodline, so when Dracula awakens, the legendary battle between the two
great foes begins anew.


 
THE SATANIC RITES OF DRACULA
(1974) 10:20 PM ET/7:20 PM PT/9:20 PM C
The eighth film in Hammer’s Dracula series and seventh to star the wonderful Christopher Lee in the title role, this sequel to Dracula A.D. 1972 begins with Scotland Yard investigating several cases of vampirism. After calling in Van Helsing, an expert vampire researcher and descendent of Dracula’s greatest nemesis, it becomes apparent that the feared nightstalker is yet again preying on the innocent. Will he be uncloaked before he drinks again?

 
FRANKENSTEIN CREATED WOMAN
(1967) 11:50 PM ET/8:50PM PT/10:50 PM C
Peter Cushing stars as the best known mad scientist, Baron Frankenstein, in this Hammer Films classic. After reviving the body of a disfigured young woman, Christina, it’s discovered that she committed suicide following the wrongful execution of her lover, Hans. Continuing his deranged experiments, he transplants Hans’ soul into his newly-undead monster, who then begins to take revenge on those who wrongly framed Hans for murder.
 
FRANKENSTEIN MUST BE DESTROYED
(1969) 1:25 AM ET/10:25 PM PT/12:25 AM C
Cushing delivers his most cold-blooded portrayal of the mad Baron in his fifth turn as Dr. Frankenstein. Abandoning his latest experiment after a drunk stumbles into his secret lab, he hurriedly finds new lodgings with a young woman whose boyfriend works in the local sanitarium. Frankenstein blackmails the lovers into complicity with his latest experiment – helping him transfer his friend’s brain into another body to save him from the local asylum. When the creature awakes, he is horrified by his appearance and escapes to go to his “former” wife. Frankenstein finds the creature, but is it too late?


 
THE MUMMY (1959) 3:10 AM ET/12:10 AM PT/2:10 AM C
After, three British archeologists open the sacred grave of a Princess Ananka, who died four millennia ago, an ancient curse befalls them. They also manage to raise the vindictive mummy Kharis (Christopher Lee), charged with guarding the Princess in the afterlife, as well as the ire of Mehemet Bey, an Egyptian adept of the god Karnak. Which English infidels will experience the wrath of the Mummy, in this Terrence Fisher-directed Technicolor classic starring both Lee and Cushing?


 
THE MUMMY’S SHROUD (1967) 4:40 AM ET/1:40 AM PT/3:40 AM C
 In 1920, an archeological expedition unearths the tomb of an ancient Egyptian child prince. After returning home with their discovery, the archeologists soon find themselves being killed off one by one by the mummy, which was unknowingly revived when they translated the prince’s burial shroud.
 
As with all MONSTERS HD programs, all the films in HAMMER HORROR TIME will be airing uncut and commercial-free in their original aspect ratios. MONSTERS HD is available in the U.S. on Echostar’s DISH Network (channel 9481) and Cablevision’s iO digital cable service (channel 777).